See below for a list of départements in Nouvelle Aquitainea new Region from 1 January 2016 created by a merger of the old Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes regions.

The word “Aquitaine” comes from Latin and means “land of water”, The region is well-known for places such as Biarritz, St.Emilion, Arcachon, the Dordogne and Cognac and some of its most famous exports, including wine, cognac and foie gras.

Nouvelle Aquitaine is a very diverse area, located in the South West of France, with its regional capital in Bordeaux. Originally the region of Aquitaine extended from the north of the Medoc peninsula to the Spanish border in the south. Nouvelle Aquitaine now extends north to La Rochelle and inland to include Limoges, The region includes the important wine region of Bordeaux (e.g. Margaux, Medoc, Sauternes and Saint Emilion) but many other regional wines are produced. such as Cahors, Jurancon and Bergerac. The local specialties like Truffles, Duck, Goose and Foie Gras mean that the local cuisine is famous in France and beyond for its variety and quality!

Nouvelle Aquitaine logo

See more about the region:

Stay on a Bordeaux vineyard – hotel, B&B or self-catering

see our Top 30 vineyard B&Bs in France

somewhere to stay, a ferry, a train or car hire?

The one-stop shop for train travel


stay on a French vineyard – over 250 vineyards featured across France – hotels, B&B, self-catering

Save on your hotel - hotelscombined.com