The Official Guide

Most Beautiful Villages in France book

Books for France

Michelin Red Guide 2020

Michelin 2020

Michelin Atlas 2020

Michelin Atlas 2020

Design and hosting by
FrenchDuck Digital

French Duck logo

73 Savoie

The département of Savoie (Savoy) is in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region of France.

Region: Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes Prefecture: Chambéry
Together with the Haute-Savoie, Savoie is one of the two departments of the historic region of Savoy that was annexed by France following the signature of the Treaty of Turin in 1860. The area is very mountainous including the Mont Blanc Massif. Savoie, along with Albertville, hosted the 1992 Winter Olympics, with ski events at Tarentaise and Beaufortain. The other main alpine valley is the Maurienne, connected to the Tarentaise valley by two passes, the col de la Madeleine and the highest pass in Europe, the col de l'Iseran. The Maurienne valley was through the col du Mont Cenis, the major commercial route between France and Italy. Ski-ing is very popular in winter with numerous ski resorts including Val-d'Isère, Tignes, Les Arcs, La Plagne, Courchevel, Méribeland others. It is also frequently visited by the annual Tour de France cycle race.

Holiday Accommodation in the Savoie département: Hotels, B&Bs, self-catering

Savoie tourisme

savoie logo