Region: Centre-Val de Loire Prefecture: Chateauroux
Indre is naturally named after the river Indre, and was one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution in 1790. It was created from part of the former province of Berry. Châteauroux, the capital is a historic town, originally called "Château Raoul", the present day château which now houses the préfecture being built on the site of a castle constructed in the tenth century by Raoul le Large, lord of Déols. The Indre department has two villages which have been classified among the most beautiful villages of France: Saint-Benoît-du-Sault and Gargilesse-Dampierre.

Holiday Accommodation in the Indre département: Hotels, B&Bs, self-catering

Indre tourisme

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.