Grapes at Domaine Leduc-Frouin

ripening grapes in the Loire

ripening grapes in the Loire

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner

  Fuel Prices in France

Design and hosting by
FrenchDuck Digital

French Duck Digital logo

Frenchduck logo

New French Regions

From 1 January 2016 the map of France is re-drawn!

New French Regions 2016

Something of a revolution will hit France on 1 January 2016 – streamlining of the French Regions: France has always had a multi-layered approach with over 36,000 communes, 96 départements (counties)  and 22 Regions.

The number of regions is to be reduced to 13, with mergers to create new regions:

  • Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine (ACAL) – Strasbourg
  • Aquitaine Limousin Poitou-Charentes (ALPC) –  Bordeaux
  • Auvergne Rhône-Alpes (ARA) – Lyon
  • Bretagne (unchanged) – Rennes
  • Bourgogne Franche-Comté (BFC) – Dijon
  • Centre Val de Loire – Orléans
  • Corse (unchanged) – Ajaccio
  • Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées – Toulouse
  • NormandieRouen
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie – Lille
  • Île-de-France (unchanged) – Paris
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (unchanged) (PACA) – Marseille

Regional Prefectures (regional capitals) are shown above in bold.

Yet only in France could it be that despite the reduction in the number of Regional Councils, there will be no reduction in the number of Councillors!.